The season ends on a high

Like many anglers I’ve found the past season a bit of a struggle.

Like many anglers I’ve found the past season a bit of a struggle. A ridiculously cold winter certainly made the fishing difficult during the latter stages of 2009 and the early part of 2010 and yet as I write this, just a few days after the season has closed; it’s a balmy 15 degrees outside and the rivers look perfect.

Despite the difficult winter and my continued inability to even come close to getting to grips with the river Lea at Fishers Green, I managed some really memorable and enjoyable sessions. Highlights included a trip out on a boat off the Essex coast, fishing from the rocks in west Wales and freshwater adventures after chub on the Hampshire Avon and perch from a Lea valley pool.

My final two sessions of the season were on familiar venues. The Hampshire Avon at Britford is a glorious stretch of this famous river and after being introduced to the venue by a friend a couple of years ago, I usually mange to get down there a couple of times every season. A sunny day at the end of February saw me and said friend head down for the day. I hadn’t had much of a chance to have a go for pike this season, so I took my trusty 6 piece travel rod with me to have a go for a predator.

Second cast saw a cracking little chap of five and half pounds to a smelt dead-bait and as I landed him a larger female pike was visible underneath the little pike, perhaps even eyeing him up as dinner!

I cast again into the deep pool in search of a big one, but after losing what felt a better fish, reverted to fishing cheese paste under some snags. My final river fish of the season were a brace of lovely chub at dusk, both scrapping all the way to the net in the strong current.

I actually finished the year on the day-ticket lake I’ve been fishing for big perch. A very cold day saw me fluke a small bream pretty much straight away, then fish hard for few hours without a touch, before I connected with a succession of lovely, big perch at dusk. The penultimate fish was the one I’d been waiting for, an absolute beauty of 2lbs 3ozs. What a great end to the season.

Hants Avon jack pike
A little pike from the Avon
An Avon chub
An Avon chub that fell to cheesepaste.
big perch
2lbs 3ozs end of season perch.

Author: tescovalue79

Age: 37. Work: Marketing & communications. Like: fishing, art, ITFC, good music, bad pubs.

Leave a Reply

