Wye woes

I spent a few, sun soaked hours last week on a majestic stretch of the Wye that I’m slowly beginning to get to know, if not really understand. Despite finding the river in seemingly fine fettle – fining down after recent high water and with the air temperature mild – I again failed to make contact with any barbel. Two average Wye chub were my reward, both taking single boilies fished away from the ground baited area.

The river looked the part, but only a couple of average chub turned up.
A chub of 3lbs 6ozs – an average Wye fish, but still a nice one.

I really thought Boris would make an appearance, but after speaking with some other guys fishing the stretch it turned out they were also struggling. And after I’d returned home, reading some of the online reports it seems the part of the river I’m fishing is generally a bit out of sorts at the moment, at least in terms of the barbel and chub fishing. It seems to be adjusting to the changes in temperature and is affected by extra water in a different way to my old stomping ground on the Lea, where the conditions we’ve experienced recently would have no doubt encouraged the Lea barbel out to feed in earnest.

I also chatted to a friendly pike angler who had fared better, despite the colored water, managing a brace of mid-double figure fish. I think I’ll try a spot of piking on the stretch in an effort to hopefully tempt my first Wye esox! ­

Author: tescovalue79

Age: 37. Work: Marketing & communications. Like: fishing, art, ITFC, good music, bad pubs.

Leave a Reply

