Wye pike – before the storm

Before the deluge I made a trip to the Wye with a loose plan of fishing a maggot feeder in search of whatever came along and chub later in the day with perhaps a bit of piking in-between.

Amazingly, the Wye was at the lowest I’ve ever seen it and after nearly a year of fishing the river, finding it running fairly clear and with a lovely greenish tinge instead of up and coloured, was a nice change. The day was overcast and mild and I was confident of a fish or two.

Autumnal colours on the Wye

I initially set up a small maggot feeder and cast it to the crease, just upstream of a large, semi-submerged bush that had created a nice slack on the inside.

Straight away, hordes of bleak hammered the maggot hook bait and it was impossible to keep a bait in the water without a little silvery bleak hooking itself.

By the fourth or fifth cast I realised I’d have to either attempt to feed the bleak off and try and draw the better fish into the swim through constant feeding or possibly revert to a larger hook bait. I lobbed the feeder out again and as it landed a big swirl by the bush was preceded little bleak leaping clear of the water in all directions – alerting me to the fact that something bigger was already in the vicinity!

I didn’t need a second invitation and soon had the pike rod set-up with a simple float paternoster rig with a heavy wire trace and a strong, single size 4 carp hook, baited with a sprat.

By the end of the morning I’d landed three pike of 5lbs, 7.5lbs and a cracker of 14lbs 10ozs as well as losing another to a hook pull. All of the pike gave a really good account of themselves in the flow and it was an exciting few hours fishing. In my last blog I thought about the most exciting moment in angling and if the initial dip of a pike float is perhaps the most exciting moment, then getting that first glimpse of a good pike in clear water has to be up there in the excitement stakes!

A chunky Wye pike of 14lbs 10ozs

I decided to take a wander after the morning’s pike action and try and search out a chub. I never had a sniff, but the day was already a good ‘un.

Author: tescovalue79

Age: 37. Work: Marketing & communications. Like: fishing, art, ITFC, good music, bad pubs.

5 thoughts on “Wye pike – before the storm”

  1. That’s wet my appetite for my first Wye pike session of the season, not long now (weather permitting). Top work on the fourteen, next it’s time to find a twenty…

    1. Cheers Brian. I hope the weather improves in time for your Wye pike session, I’m sure you’ll get amongst the fish anyway with your pike catching ability! I was chuffed to bits with the 14, a big fish in my book! But a Wye twenty would really be something…

  2. Caught a lovely 24lb 4oz pike from the Stour at Henney, near Sudbury earlier this year followed by one of 16lb 8 oz a few weeks later (plus a couple of 6lb chub). As you know it’s only a small river in comparison with the Wye but full of pike, although they’re mainly in the 3lb to 8lb mark. My real passion is barbel unfortunately I have to travel further afield to the either the Lea or Thames – the Wye is a bit too far. Enjoy your blog – keep it up.

  3. Hello Malc. Thanks for the kind words. Wow, a mid-20 from the Suffolk Stour is an amazing pike, a true river giant! I think any river ’20’ is the equivalent of a trout reservoir ’30’ and a special fish. I managed two over 20 pounds from the Stour up to 22lbs 6ozs, but a good few years ago now. The Stour was always good for plenty of pike sport and even a double is a rare fish, but they’re all good fun! And you’ve had a brace of 6lbs chub – awesome fishing. I’d love to see some pics of the fish if you have any? I’ve sent this response to your email as well, if you want to send them over. I love barbel fishing as well and the Wye can be amazing. I used to fish the Lea before I moved west and there is some great barbel fishing to be had there. Do keep in touch and let me know how you get on on the Stour Malc.

  4. Hi Ben, received your e-mail and will dig out what pics I have a bit later. By the way, the mid-20 I caught from the Suffolk Stour doesn’t come anywhere near the many 30lb-ers caught by the infamous Lewis Hobson a few years back. A truly great pike angler from Sudbury:-)

Leave a Reply

