Rob’s canal carp quest

My old mate Rob has become a bit obsessed by a big, dark mirror carp that he’s found living in a stretch of the Grand Union canal near to his home.

He’s had a few short sessions in an effort to tempt it but no joy yet. These big, urban carp are no commercial fishery pushovers that’s for sure!

I’m heading over to Rob’s for a couple of days fishing soon and while we’ve discussed various waters to target, I’m hoping we can at least squeeze in an early morning or late evening on the canal in search of carp. I really fancy having a serious go at some wild old canal carp and I have a couple of waters much closer to home that I feel could be worth targeting – a feral 20 pounder really would be something.

So I asked Rob how big he thinks this fish is. ‘Yeah, it’s big’ – is as much as I can get out of him. I hope you get her soon mate!

Canal carp
Rob’s big canal carp
Author: tescovalue79

Age: 37. Work: Marketing & communications. Like: fishing, art, ITFC, good music, bad pubs.

2 thoughts on “Rob’s canal carp quest”

  1. Hi Elliott. Sorry for the late reply. I must admit I’m a total novice when it comes to canal fishing. What sort of fish are you after?

Leave a Reply

