Canal carp – chasing leads and climbing trees

Yesterday evening I actually had a rod and a few bits in the car. But I chose not to fish. I didn’t feel quite ready. I know I would have simply been chancing it had I fished. Instead I looked around, climbed up and down steep banks and trees and crept into quiet corners in an effort to find what I’m looking for.

Such visits are never wasted. So much to see and learn. The burning issue as I see it at the moment is access. The canal is very overgrown and wild and even finding a spot in which to position a rod on the bank and a bait in the water is going to be a challenge. And the two areas I like the look of both have major causes for concern. One, a wider marina area has, as is to be expected, lots of boats and buoys. They present a real issue in terms of actually hooking a carp. A bream I can cope with in the confined spaces, but an angry carp hooked at close quarters really can only go one of two ways – up or down, and that will present a problem! The second area is narrow and really very weedy. But with a few holes in which I think I could effectively present a bait. But I think I’ll have to employ some seriously tough tackle in a bid to get them out.

At the moment I think I need to begin a pre-baiting campaign of sorts. Nothing complex, but some bait introduced into a couple of spots over a few evenings.

And what of the fish? A few small roach and one tiny pike spotted; a few swirls from bigger fish out towards the middle of the marina; and, in the last swim I visited, one big, vortex of water complete with audible ‘clop’ created by an unidentified, yet clearly weighty fish as I peered over the edge…

The canal

Author: tescovalue79

Age: 37. Work: Marketing & communications. Like: fishing, art, ITFC, good music, bad pubs.

8 thoughts on “Canal carp – chasing leads and climbing trees”

  1. Ben, when Danny and I went canal carping we had to work very hard to locate them. Early morning was best. When we finally found them the signs were almost imperceptible. None of that barging about in reed beds or crashing out of the water, just the slightest trembling of the water under far bank cover or a slight puff of silt. Once we knew what to look for we found individual fish fairly easily, but they were very wary and as soon as the boats turned up, it was game over,

    1. That really is interesting, Jeff. I was there first thing this morning for another look around and it was eerily quiet. Just the odd roach topping and small, splashy pike. No sign of even any bream – which I’ve heard reside in the canal and are supposedly quite visible first thing on a summers morning – let alone carp.

      I actually put a bit of bait in one of my spots last night and I really was expecting to see something, but there was, bar the odd small roach, nothing moving.

      And yet now you say that, I guess I was looking for something more grandiose, like you say weeds being torn-up, huge bow-waves and the like.

      I fear I’m trying to find ghosts at the moment…

  2. Ben, there was a fish kill there within the last five years, I don’t think it was total, but nevertheless a fish kill. Obviously there are some fish in there now. Have you tried speaking to Roger in the tackle shop in town ? He’s pretty knowledgable.

    1. Hi Yessling. Sorry for the late response, holidays and all that. Yes, I’d heard about the kill. I also spoke to the chaps in Forest Tackle who gave me a few pointers. Still no joy, not even seen a bream yet, so perhaps I’m fighting a losing battle. I’ll drop you an email mate.

Leave a Reply

