A Good Start on the Wye

With a little extra water in the river and the first month of the river season generally seeing cloudy, blustery days – it’s been a great start on the Wye.

I’m really lucky to be able to head over to the river for a few hours after work as and when conditions dictate. I’ve made a couple of short and sweet trips to the river fishing for three or so hours each time, travelling light with the aim of tempting the odd chub or barbel.

I’ve no real desire to haul in barbel by the dozen, but it’s always nice to get a few fish in the quiet and beautiful surroundings of the Wye valley.

Interestingly, over the two trips I’ve had plenty of shoal size barbel fishing feeder and pellets into the fast water, but a trio of much better barbel and some stonking chub have come to big chunks of meat freelined into a deep slack, right under my feet.

With hot weather on the way and the holiday season about to start, it’ll soon be a lot busier on the river and I’ll probably leave it alone until the autumn. But there are lots of other angling adventures to be had…

The Wye web

Barbel fight web

Wye gold web

Wye chub web

9lbs barbel 2 web

net web

Author: tescovalue79

Age: 37. Work: Marketing & communications. Like: fishing, art, ITFC, good music, bad pubs.

5 thoughts on “A Good Start on the Wye”

    1. Cheers Anincorrigible. Much appreciated. Well, I switched from a Canon DSLR to a Sony A77 last year and I’m using some old Minolta prime lens. But I was still taking the Canon out fishing, just in case anything happened to the Sony! But I have been taking it out more and more. What do you use mate?

      1. Up to 2 weeks ago I was using a very old Olympus digital (only 3mb and over 16 years old!) but due to its recent demise I’ve just started to use another old camera, a Canon ‘bridge’ which if I make sure its on the correct setting, can produce some good images

    1. Cheers James! I’ve tried to comment on a couple of your blogs recently, but Blogger doesn’t seem to like my WordPress account! Great to see you getting amongst those big fen rudd – stunning fish.

Leave a Reply

