Spring Carp – Rain or Shine

As another Great British Summer (TM) slowly but surely lumbers into our collective consciousness, its traditions, old and new, shape those precious few weeks when everything feels different.

Seaside. Silly Season. Fish & Chips. Camping. Cricket. Mr Whippy. BBQs. Brexit. Wasps. Lager. Pub Gardens. Headlines. Headaches. Nostalgia. Knees. Festivals. FA Cup Final. Music. Mud. Sweltering public transport. Traffic. Tennis. Trump. Shorts. Shades. Sunburn… Rain.

Tenby, West Wales. Great British Summer 2016

And as spring turns to summer, even that big burning ball in the sky makes an appearance a bit more regularly. And with it, carp return to the upper layers of the water, searching for food items on the surface.

After a sweltering day in the office, an evening by the lake, quietly floater fishing for carp, offers the ideal tonic.

I’ve spent a couple of evenings trying for carp on my local lake recently, most recently under a clear blue sky and warm sunshine, but the first in torrential rain. And I caught some lovely carp on both occasions. I really enjoy the simplicity of it all, a rod, a net, some bait.

Just the essentials…

The carp here aren’t big – in the grand scheme of things – but the lake is peaceful, the fish are a challenge and landing one feels like an achievement. The common carp pictured below would drift in and casually take a mixer or two that I’d been feeding right under my feet, before ambling back into the middle of the lake, refusing to even consider the hookbait maybe a dozen times.

Finally, as dusk approached – I stopped feeding mixers and trying to chase fish around the swim and tore off a large crust, lowering it just past the reeds under my feet. The common had it straight away.

12lbs mirror web

Author: tescovalue79

Age: 37. Work: Marketing & communications. Like: fishing, art, ITFC, good music, bad pubs.

6 thoughts on “Spring Carp – Rain or Shine”

  1. What a great read! I must admit I really miss floater fishing for carp, its such a satisfying way to fish. As you say, due to its simplicity and also down to how visual the whole process is. One of the reasons I’m so addicted to bass at the moment – my short rod all set up in the car, mackerel and a chair and not knowing if they will be on this tide or the next.

    1. Thanks mate. I think it’s the most enjoyable way to fish, especially at this time of year. It reminds me of stalking chub on the Suffolk Stour – something I must do on the Wye this summer! I look forward to reading about your giant bass exploits this year…

  2. Lovely common Ben!, it’s always perspective isn’t it, it may not be massive but surroundings linked with the fact they don’t grow big in there makes it more special, I try to not to get caught up in it all if I’m honest….as hard as that is to fight. Tights lines for the challenge and may the luckiest angler win !

    1. Cheers James! I think those London canal carp you chase are some of the most impressive fish around, incredible carp in an awesome location. It really is just about doing what you enjoy!

  3. Nice words Ben and a fine looking fish, been a while since I have been clooper hunting, great fun and one way to sort wheat from the chaff,

    1. Cheers Mark. Yes, it’s fun fishing and a lovely way to end the day. Rivers again soon though – I think I’d like a 5lbs Wye chub!

Leave a Reply

